Sunshine girl Catherine’s in the swim

It’s a tough job but someone’s got to do it.

Catherine Morris has been working in the Bahamas for nearly five years – in between drinking rum and chasing pirates.

The 31-year-old Ulsterwoman, who did a law degree at that other university in Nottingham, graduated from CBJ in 2005 with an MA in Newspaper Journalism when she was still called Boal.

boal

Beach bum: Catherine Morris in the Bahamas.

She went to Cape Town and volunteered at their Big Issue magazine for three months before moving to Montpellier in the south of France where she worked for Decision News Media.

This was an online publishing outfit with lots of websites catering for the business side of the food industry. Catherine edited two of their websites which meant she wrote about six little business news stories a day for the homepages and some longer pieces when necessary.

In 2007 she ditched DNM and went to Glasgow to work for another business publishing house. She contributed to their magazines and was responsible for internal newsletters.

Two years later she headed over the Atlantic to work for a publishing company that produces a business magazine called The Bahamas Investor and lots of other tourist publications.

She works on all the publications so it’s not just business. Catherine said: “I never set out to be a business journalist, who does? But it turns out that if you can write, you can write about anything. I learned on the job and that’s where the opportunities were. It’s allowed me to combine my love of writing with my love of travelling so I can’t complain. Getting away from the UK weather doesn’t hurt either.

“Where I am now, I’m not solely a business writer. I work across all the publications – most of which are aimed at the tourist market – so it’s nicely varied. I can be writing about shark conservation in the morning and foreign direct investment in the afternoon. It’s hard to be bored in that kind of environment.

“When I tell people I work in The Bahamas they give me a knowing smile as if I’m spending my days on the beach, cocktail in hand. In reality, I’m working longer hours than I did in the UK. A job is a job and you have to earn your pay cheque wherever you go.

“I don’t know where I’ll end up next and hopefully I won’t have to make that decision for a long time. I love The Bahamas. I met my husband here, I got married here. It will always be a special place for us.

“I can walk to the beach from my house and spend my weekends swimming in water so blue you can see it from space. This is the best time of year to be here too – when everyone back home is complaining about the cold. That’s when you really feel like you’re getting away with something.”

Leave a Reply

