How James won top sport award – read his winning work

Delighted CBJ old boy James Sharpe is still pinching himself after winning a top award.

James, who graduated from MA/PGDip Digital and Newspaper Journalism in 2012, was named Sports Journalist of the Year at the Midlands Media Awards.

Winners: James Sharpe (left) and Leicester Mercury photographer Mike Sewell.

Winners: James Sharpe (left) and his colleague, Leicester Mercury photographer Mike Sewell.

He’s been a sports reporter at the Leicester Mercury newspaper for the last three years and was also shortlisted in the Blogger of the Year category.

The 25-year-old, who’s been covering Leicester City since 2013, picked up his award at the black tie event at Aston Villa football ground.

He said: “I’m very proud. I’ve only been in the business for three years and they were the first awards I’d ever been up for so I was really chuffed to win one.”

James, who has the award on his mantelpiece at home, was chosen as winner for his feature about Leicester City’s Leonardo Ulloa, his open letter of praise to former player Esteban Cambiasso and a match report following Leicester’s win against West Ham that saw their fortunes turn around last season.

He added: “As a Leicester City fan it was great fun being able to follow them on their miraculous great escape last sesason and now, incredibly, reach the top of the Premier League.”

Derby Telegraph crime reporter Martin Naylor, who studied MA/PGDip Digital and Newspaper Journalism in 2006-7, won Scoop of the Year for his exclusive story about an Islamic State suicide bomber from the city.

His story revealed that a would-be suicide bomber in Syria was, in fact, Derby father Kabir Ahmed, twice convicted for spreading hatred against gay people in the city. Ahmed is suspected to have died in a bombing later.

PIcture: Ian Hodgkinson Pictured at the Midlands Media Awards ceremony in Birmingham our winner for Scoop of the Year Martin Naylor

Winner: CBJ graduate Martin Naylor.

Martin said: “I am really pleased to have received this award. My wife is delighted for me and very proud. We have a great team at the Telegraph and it’s good to have our work recognised on occasions like this.”

Leicester Mercury journalist Gemma Peplow, who studied on the same course the year before Martin, was shortlisted in the Feature Writer of the Year category.

And Free Radio’s Dan Dawson, who graduated from MA/PGDip Radio Journalism in 2005, was shortlisted in the Radio Journalist of the Year category.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: